## **REPORT OF OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY COMMITTEE**

## (SPECIAL) MEETING HELD ON 12 MAY 2008

Chairman:	* Councillor Stanley Sheinwald	
Councillors:	<ul> <li>Ms Nana Asante (3)</li> <li>Mrs Margaret Davine</li> <li>Manji Kara</li> <li>Ashok Kulkarni (2)</li> <li>Jerry Miles</li> <li>Mrs Vina Mithani</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>* Mrs Rekha Shah (4) Dinesh Solanki</li> <li>* Yogesh Teli</li> <li>* Mark Versallion</li> <li>* Jeremy Zeid (7)</li> </ul>
Voting	(Voluntary Aided)	(Parent Governors)
Co-opted:	† Mrs J Rammelt Reverend P Reece	* Mr R Chauhan Mrs D Speel
* Denotes Me	ember present	

(3), (2), (4) and (7) Denote category of Reserve Members
 † Denotes apologies received

[Note: also attended this meeting to speak on the item indicated at Minute ... below].

## **PART I - RECOMMENDATIONS - NIL**

## **PART II - MINUTES**

## 315. Welcome:

The Chairman welcomed former and new Members of the Overview and Scrutiny Committee to the inaugural meeting of the Committee for the Municipal Year 2008/09. He stated that he looked forward to the year ahead and sought cooperation from all Members in relation to the work of the Committee.

#### 316. Appointment of Chairman:

**RESOLVED:** To note the appointment at the Annual Meeting of Council on 12 May 2008 of Councillor Stanley Sheinwald as Chairman of the Overview and Scrutiny Committee for the Municipal Year 2008/09.

## 317. Attendance by Reserve Members:

**RESOLVED:** To note the attendance at this meeting of the following duly appointed Reserve Members:-

## Ordinary Member

Councillor Brian Gate Councillor Mitzi Green Councillor Janet Mote Councillor Anthony Seymour

## Reserve Member

Councillor Mrs Rekha Shah Councillor Nana Asante Councillor Jeremy Zeid Councillor Ashok Kulkarni

## 318. Declarations of Interest:

**RESOLVED:** To note that there were no declarations of interests made by Members in relation to the business transacted at this meeting.

## 319. Arrangement of Agenda:

**RESOLVED:** That (1) in accordance with the Local Government (Access to Information) Act 1985, the following items be admitted late to the agenda by virtue of the special circumstances and grounds for urgency detailed below:-

#### Agenda item

#### 7. Establishment of Sub-Committees 2008/09

This information was not available at the time the agenda was printed and circulated, as it was being consulted on. Members were requested to consider this item, as a matter of urgency, as the establishment of the

Special Circumstances / Grounds for Urgency

- 8. Appointment of Lead Members for Scrutiny This information was being consulted on at the time the agenda was printed and circulated. Members are requested to consider this item, as a matter of urgency, so that the appointments can be made and the Lead Members can assume their areas of responsibility.
- (2) all items be considered with the press and public present.

## 320. Appointment of Vice- Chairman:

**RESOLVED:** To appoint Councillor Mitzi Green as Vice-Chairman of the Overview and Scrutiny Committee for the 2008/2009 Municipal Year.

### 321. Minutes:

**RESOLVED:** That the minutes of the meeting held on 22 April 2008 be deferred to the next ordinary meeting of the Committee.

## 322. Establishment of Sub-Committees for 2008/09:

**RESOLVED:** That the Sub-Committees of the Overview and Scrutiny Committee be established for the Municipal Year 2008/09, as detailed in appendix 1 to these minutes.

### 323. Appointment of Lead Members for Scrutiny 2008/09:

**RESOLVED:** That the Policy and Performance Lead Members be appointed for the Municipal year 2008/09, as detailed in appendix 2 to these minutes.

#### 324. <u>Dates of Meetings of the Overview and Scrutiny Committee for the Municipal</u> Year 2008/09:

**RESOLVED:** To note the dates of meetings of the Overview and Scrutiny Committee for the Municipal year 2008/09.

(Note: The meeting, having commenced at 6.50 pm, closed at 6.55 pm).

(Signed) COUNCILLOR STANLEY SHEINWALD Chairman

## **SCRUTINY SUB COMMITTEES**

(Membership in order of political group nominations)

	<u>Conservative</u>	<u>Labour</u>	Liberal Democrat		
	(1) PERFORMANCE AND FINANCE SCRUTINY SUB-COMMITTEE (11)				
	(6)	(4)	(1)		
<u>l.</u> <u>Members</u>	Ashok Kulkarni Janet Mote Anthony Seymour Dinesh Solanki Yogesh Teli Mark Versallion (CH)	Ms Nana Asante B E Gate Philip O'Dell Mrs Rekha Shah	Christopher Noyce		
II. <u>Reserve</u> <u>Members</u>	<ol> <li>Eric Silver</li> <li>Manji Kara</li> <li>Jeremy Zeid</li> <li>Mrs Kinnear</li> <li>Stanley Sheinwald</li> <li>Julia Merison</li> </ol>	<ol> <li>Mitzi Green</li> <li>Bill Stephenson</li> <li>Thaya Idaikkadar</li> <li>Keeki Thammaiah</li> </ol>	1. Paul Scott		
	(2) CALL-IN SUB-COMMITTEE (5)				
	(3)	(2)			
<u>l.</u> Members	Anthony Seymour (CH) Stanley Sheinwald Mark Versallion	B E Gate Mitzi Green *			
II. <u>Reserve</u> <u>Members</u> † †	<ol> <li>Janet Mote</li> <li>Mrs Lurline Champagnie</li> <li>Dinesh Solanki</li> <li>Narinder Singh Mudhar</li> <li>Julia Merison</li> </ol>	<ol> <li>Jerry Miles</li> <li>Graham Henson</li> <li>Keeki Thammaiah</li> <li>Mrinal Choudhury</li> </ol>			
CH *	<ul> <li>= Chair</li> <li>= Denotes Group Members for consultation on Administrative Matters</li> </ul>				
†	<b>[Note:</b> The appointed number of Reserves for each Group is in excess of the Committee Procedure Rule 3.2 provision, by virtue of Resolution 17: Overview and Scrutiny Committee (18.7.06).]				

(3) CALL-IN SUB-COMMITTEE (Education)

(7)

(2)

<u>l.</u> <u>Members</u>		Mrs Lurline Champagnie Janet Mote Anthony Seymour (CH) Stanley Sheinwald Dinesh Solanki Mark Versallion Jeremy Zeid	B E Gate Mitzi Green *
	† †		
		<ul> <li>(2) Two representatives of Parent Governors</li> <li>- Mrs D Speel (Primary)/Mr R Chauhan (Secondary)</li> </ul>	
CH *		= Chair = Denotes Group Members for c	onsultation on Administrative Matters
†		<b>[Note:</b> The appointed number of Reserves for each Group is in excess of the Committee Procedure Rule 3.2 provision, by virtue of Resolution 17: Overview and Scrutiny Committee (18.7.06).]	

# Appendix 2

# LEAD MEMBERS FOR SCRUTINY 2008-09

Policy Lead Member	Councillor
Adult Health and Social Care	Councillor Vina Mithani
Children and Young People	Councillor Mrs Margaret Davine
Corporate Effectiveness and Finance	Councillor Stanley Sheinwald
Safer and Stronger Communities	Councillor Anthony Seymour
Sustainable Development and Enterprise	Councillor Jeremy Miles

Performance Lead Member	Councillor
Adult Health and Social Care	Councillor Mrs Rekha Shah
Children and Young People	Councillor Janet Mote
Corporate Effectiveness and Finance	Councillor Mark Versallion
Safer and Stronger Communities	Councillor Ms Nana Asante
Sustainable Development and Enterprise	Councillor Dinesh Solanki